January 7th, 2016

Ensemble75 fans!

Please join us at our first concert of 2016! The Cézanne Quartet (Peak fellowship Ensemble-in-Residence at SMU Meadows School of the Arts) will be joined by Ensemble75 Artistic Director Jonathan Tsay in a performance of chamber works by Gustav Mahler, Alfred Schnittke, and Dmitri Shostakovich.


Ensemble75 – Intentions Unknown
Sunday, January 24th, 2016 7:00PM
Collora Piano
1451 Wycliff Avenue
Dallas Texas 75207



October 5th, 2015 - read the concert review here

Ensemble75 fans!

We're pleased to announce the first concert of our sixth season, featuring the works of female composers spanning the 19th-21st centuries. As recently as last month, there are still blogs being written (either purely for attention or otherwise) that diminish the accomplishments of female composers past and present. Ensemble75 will explore the environments these women developed in, and how they dealt with the hurdles and barriers of balancing being a formidable creative force with traditional gender roles.

Dallas Symphony Orchestra Associate Principal Cello Jolyon Pegis joins returning Ensemble75 members Chloé Trevor, Steven Juarez, and Ensemble75 Artistic Director Jonathan Tsay.

Music of Nadia Boulanger, Clara Schumann, Rebecca Clarke, Joan Tower, Galina Ustvolskaya, and Lera Auerbach

Ensemble75 – Season Six Premiere
Wednesday November 4, 2015 7:30PM
The Goss-Michael Foundation
1405 Turtle Creek Blvd.
Dallas Texas 75207



TheaterJones Review - June 2015

August 4th, 2015

Click here to read the review of "The New Made Old Again" by TheaterJones!


We are pleased to announce a new project in conjunction with The Goss-Michael Foundation!

Ensemble75's new concerts at The Goss-Michael Foundation serve as an intersection between contemporary visual art and instrumental and vocal music. Rather than attempting to create a musical analogue of the entirety of a visual artists' oeuvre, these concerts will explore one core aspect of the artist's voice in-depth through a collection of musical works that share a similar theme.

“The New Made Old Again” - June 19th, 2015 - 7:00PM
Visual Art by Alex Prager
Music of Arnold Schoenberg, Anton Webern, and Alban Berg

Alex Prager's photography, though distinctly modern, inspires a sense of nostalgia by selecting subjects who are at once anonymous and familiar, and by lighting them in a way that hearkens back to cinema of a half century ago. Following the juxtaposition of the old and new, the works of the composers most associated with the Second Viennese School (Arnold Schoenberg, Anton Webern, and Alban Berg) each originated from the rich sonorities of late Romanticism and eventually forged ahead into complete control in the form of serialism. However, the works written at the crucial pivot point between tonality and atonality provide a fascinating picture of these avant-garde composers experimenting with new tonal worlds, each with their individual aesthetic illuminating their way into the unknown. These aesthetics, which served as roots from which the fruit of twentieth-century isms blossomed, will be explored through works written pre- and post-tonality.


Ensemble75 was founded in the summer of 2010 when a group of young professional musicians met at steinway hall dallas with a goal in mind: to create a playground and laboratory where local emerging classical musicians could collaborate, hone, and share their skills.

Upcoming Concerts